Audience Feedback

January 28, 2010 at 10:01 am (Uncategorized)

I have now nearly finished my editing. However, I wanted to get some Audience Feedback before totally completing my Opening Sequence. Audience Feedback is very important, as it gives you an idea of what the people who are actually going to watch the film think. Whole endings of films have been changed after being shown to an audience.

I asked several people from my Target Population to watch my Opening Sequence so far, and to feedback on what they thought was really good, and things that perhaps didn’t work so well. From the feedback I got, I decided to change a few things:-

I originally had freeze frames to end the individual sections of the characters. However, someone said that the final freeze frame, where the two male subjects high five each other, would look good if after the freeze frame the action carried on and they finished the high five. After thinking about this I looked at the other freeze frames to see if I could to the same. I decided that it would look better if I did carry on each of the freeze frames, but to make the abuse scenes freeze frame as effective as it could be I thought that the freeze frame should be in the middle instead of the end. This was partly to add tension in the scene, and also because I didn’t have any footage that would fit at the end of a freeze frame at the end of the section.

  • I myself was unhappy with the end title. I wanted it to do something, as with it just still on the screen I thought it looked boring. I tried it with a slow zoom in, but I thought something was still missing, and my Audience agreed. I therefore changed it to zoom in much faster so it has a bigger impact, and then zoom out again slowly.
  • The music at the end of my Opening Sequence also came under scrutiny. My audience liked it, but thought that it could be made more effective if the bass line at the end went over the 5 quick shots of the individual characters. I had thought about making the quick shots at the end a second long rather than half a second, but after experimenting with this, I decided it was more effective when it was half a second long, and have the bass fit over it. This meant some of the timings of previous shots would need to be lengthened, so I made the freeze frames last an extra 2 seconds each. I now think the end is much more effective.
  • After changing the end, the title now appeared as the music faded, and there were concerns from my audience that it looked too much like a trailer. Therefore, I recorded some ambience sound to fade in at the end as the music fades out. This created the expectation of another scene following the title, and made sure it was clear that it was not a trailer but an Opening Sequence.
Leave a Reply

