Storyboarding & Animatics

December 1, 2009 at 9:39 am (Uncategorized)

Now I’ve finished all my Market Research and know what my audience want from a Social Realism Film, I can start Storyboarding and making the Animatic for my Opening Sequence on iMovie. An Animatic is vital for filming, as filming without an Animatic is far more time consuming and can become confusing and muddled. I am estimating that my Opening Sequence will be about 30 shots, all of which need to be drawn and labelled with the appropriate information and then photographed for my Animatic.

Important Information to be included in Storyboarding and Animatics

  • Shot Number
  • Shot Type
  • Camera Angle
  • Camera Movement
  • Editing – Transitions, Effects etc.
  • Duration of Shot
  • Sketch of the image that matches the Shot Type and Angle
  • Brief Description of the Action
  • Any Diegetic/Non-Diegetic Sound

I also need to compose the music for my Animatic and Opening Sequence. The score has to be fast tempo and with a distinct beat, as most of the cuts will be made on the beat. I will use GarageBand to compose my score, that must last the right amount of time to fit with my Animatic. 

Below is my finished Animatic!

I think my Animatic is really successful, as it follows the brief and depicts what will happen in my actual finished opening sequence. I chose to make the majority of the shots quite short so the sequence remains quick paced throughout to match the music and atmosphere of the film. I especially used teh quick cuts and close up shots in the part where the character Gaz abuses the character Annie, to add tension and drama. I decided the freeze frame shots with the characters names should last longer, as they are fully establishing the characters and their names. I also chose the two close up shots of the two charcters Declan and Steve for similair reasons, as establishing shots of the characters. The whole point of an Opening Sequence is to establish locations and characters, so I think establishing shots of the characters is neccessary.

Leave a Reply

